V is for Vitamins

Breast milk is best for your new baby. It has all the vitamins and nutrients your baby needs to thrive and grow up strong. So you can imagine my surprise as a brand new mommy when my pediatrician prescribed Vitamin D drops for Harry. I’ve never heard of this before! Shouldn’t my breast milk supply Vitamin D already?
Being the naive, non confrontational person I am, I reluctantly picked up the drops and gave Harry his first dose. This was immediately followed by projectile vomit and a screaming baby. Desperate to please my pediatrician, I tried again the next day only to experience the same results.
Rebellious little me decided that I wasn’t going to listen to doctor anymore and stpped giving Harry his drops. I went online and did some research and learned that giving vitamins to newborns who are breastfeeding was the latest trend amongst many pediatricians. The reason? Doctors are worried about mommies having low levels of Vitamin D due to a decrease of sun exposure.
Armed with this new information and a little belly that couldn’t handle drops, I started taking extra Vitamin D supplements and spending a little more time outdoors to make sure that my body was producing enough to get into my milk.

This isn’t how I recommend everybody to handle doctor’s advice that you don’t agree with. If you have concerns about something your doctor has prescribed for baby don’t be afraid to ask questions.

Vitamin D is an essential nutrient in the absorption of Calcium which baby needs to grow healthy bones. For more ways to make sure you and your baby are getting enough Vitamin D please visit LLLI: Sunlight and Vitamin D

Leave a Reply

