B is for Bedtime

Sleeping snug as a bug at 6 days old.

I know, I know, you’re not supposed to sleep train newborns because you’re going to have to do it all over again when they go through their 4 month sleep regression. That being said. The most common thing I remember hearing in my 3rd trimester was “If you think it’s hard to sleep now, just wait ’til the baby gets here!” Needless to say I was terrified that I was never going to sleep again. Lucky for us after just 5 nights we had it down to a science. These results may not work for everybody that tries our methods but 5 months in we’re still consistently getting a good 10 hours straight every night. Might be worth a shot if you’re desperate.

Night 1: After 30 hours of labor I was moved to a recovery room and decided to hit the hay. Unfortunately I had nothing to say in the matter. After all I had to feed every 2 hours and have my vitals checked every 4. With this information in hand, I developed a wonderful plan that would allow me to sleep for about an hour at a time. I snuggled into my creaky hospital bed, fluffed my pillows and hit the lights. Turns out Harry wasn’t crazy about being in the dark (why a new born would be afraid of the dark beats me).  Anyway between vital checks, feedings, and having the lights on mommy got about 25 minutes of sleep that night.

Night 2: See Night One.

Night 3: Now back in our comfy little home I was sure to get some sleep right? We tucked in to our cozy little bed, fed Harry and settled him in to his bassinet. Lights out, cue scream! Terrified of the idea of co-sleeping, I stayed up all night rocking Harry and snuggling him to my chest. I got about 30 minutes of sleep that night.

Night 4: Ask and you shall receive! After posting a desperate, dire lament on Facebook my brother-in-law hopped on Amazon and overnighted us a sleep wedge. After that a friend stopped by with a Swaddling Blanket. The combination of these 2 wonderful items sent us on beautiful journey called sleep, 5 hours of sleep to be exact.

Night 5: I was perfectly happy with 5 hours of sleep. That’s what you get with a new born, right? Wrong! You don’t have to settle for just 5 hours! Amongst all the advice we were getting from friends and fellow parents one little tidbit broke the bank for us and catapulted us into 9-11 hours a night. Are you ready? A simple bedtime routine is all it took!

This is our routine. We start 30 minutes before bed time.

Do a final diaper change
Put on PJs and sleep sack (or swaddle)
Have last baba
Cuddle and Sing
Once he’s been asleep for about 20 minutes*, transfer him to the bassinet.

*This is how long it takes Harry to get into a deep sleep. Adjust it according to your baby.

I strongly encourage you to develop a bedtime routine that works for you and your family.

Do you already have a bedtime routine that works for you?
Tell us about it in the comment section.

Here are some links to sleep acesseories that may help you in sleep training
Co-Sleeper Bassinets
Swaddling Blankets
Incline Sleep Wedge

Leave a Reply

